Just another WordPress.com site

I’ve been in college down in Georgia for the past 8 months and having lived my entire life in Connecticut, it was a bit of culture shock. I had never seen collared greens before, I didn’t know what grits were, and I was under the impression that gravy was for meat or potatoes not biscuits. Georgia was my first introduction to the phenomenon of biscuits and gravy.

I harbor no grudge against Southern food; I was just massively shocked for a few months.  I thought that would be my biggest shock of the year, but  I had yet to discover that the biscuits my college served were frozen. I’ll give that a moment to sink in: a Southern school with frozen biscuits. I never thought I was a biscuit snob until working in the kitchen one day my boss pulled out trays of frozen biscuits and told me to spread melted butter on them.

Is it an idealist notion that a large scale cafeteria has the time or the resources to bake fresh biscuits every morning on a massive scale? Yes, I admit this. It is a bit far fetched and maybe I had a preconceived notion that the south is known for its biscuits, but biscuits are one of my favorite things to make at home and I was disappointed.

Now that I am home one of the first things I did was bake home made biscuits for breakfast topped with blueberry jam. This is not an original recipe* but it’s certainly one of my favorites and definitely worth sharing. For other great recipes check out the book this came from: Favorite Brand Name 3 Books in 1: Cookies, Bars, Muffins (see cite information below).

BISCUITS:

INGREDIENTS:

2 1/2 cups all purpose flour

1/4 cup sugar

1 1/2 tbs baking powder

3/4 cup (1 1/2 sticks) cold butter

1 cup milk

DIRECTIONS:

1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees (Fahrenheit). Grease 12 muffin cups.

2. Combine dry ingredients in a large bowl. Cut in butter until mixture looks like crumbs. Stir in milk just until combined. Spoon into muffin cups.

3. Bake 15-20 minutes or until light brown.

Makes 12 biscuits.

 

 

 

 

*recipe courtesy of:

Weber, Louis. “Southern Biscuit Muffins.” Favorite Brand Name 3 Books in 1: Cookies, Bars, Muffins. Lincolnwood, IL. Publications International. Ltd.

 

 

Leave a Reply

