Just another WordPress.com site

I love oatmeal. Maybe it’s because I live up north and it gets so cold that I need something both warm and easy to digest because my insides are just as cold as my outside. Maybe it’s because although I grew up on instant oatmeal, I’ve always known oatmeal to be a healthy way to start the day. Maybe it’s because I have a thing for oatmeal cookies.

Whatever the reason, when it comes down to it, no matter how much I love oatmeal, I always have a difficult time getting the flavor right and the consistency to the thickness I desire. Instant oatmeal I either find to be bland, artificial, or both, and I can never get the water to oats ratio correct. Making oatmeal from scratch, I never know what to add to it to obtain optimal flavor and end up drowning my oatmeal in milk and syrup.

On a whim I decided to be semi-homemade with my oatmeal the other morning. We had granola and I knew I didn’t want it to go to waste so I got the idea to turn my vanilla  flavored granola into a flavorful oatmeal.

For your own semi-homemade oatmeal follow this simple recipe: MAKES 1 SERVING

  1. In a small pot, boil 3/4 cup of water
  2. Add 1/2 cup of your favorite granola into the water and stir continuously for approximately 2 minutes. Large clusters will dissolve and as you stir the oatmeal will thicken.
  3. When oatmeal has achieved desired thickness, remove from heat, serve, and enjoy.
When the granola you work with is already packed with nutrition and flavor, there is little need to add any milk or sweetener.
Leave a Reply

