Just another WordPress.com site

There was no holiday this past Wednesday so I don’t have the same excuse from last week as to why I didn’t post my weekly plug for a product. As it stands all I can do is say I’m sorry and have this be a bit belated.

When I was a kid I used to flip flop around between a few different cereals. I had a phase of Peanut Butter Cap’n Crunch (it’s a bit painful to remember I used to eat that), I would eat Honey Smacks, some weeks I would love Honey Nut Cheerios (and still do, though I only eat them on occasion) and some days Frosted Flakes or Lucky Charms, or any other big brand name cereal geared toward kids. It never occurred to me that I could, if I wanted to, eat adult cereal.

It was some kind of mental road block where I figured that if a cereal had a cartoon mascot and bright colors it was meant for kids, and if the box looked bland and adult it was meant for adults and there would be ingredients in the adult cereal my child’s body would not be able to digest. Childhood logic is surprisingly funny this way.

The irony is that the children’s cereals were (and for the most part still are) worse for you, but I wasn’t the only one who thought children’s cereal must have ingredients children need. No, they’re just full of chemical dyes and processed sugars.

My point is that there were very few ‘adult’ cereals I would eat, but one I would occasionally come back to would be Post’s Banana Nut Crunch.

As a matter of fact I think I would want to give this cereal another try because as  a child I would pick out all the granola but find the rest of the cereal to be dry and tasteless. This is also due to the fact that I ate the cereal without milk, as I do with almost all of my cereals. Looking back on it, I’m sure the cereal was actually quite good and I mean to give it another shot.

So, until about 4 years ago or so, I stopped eating cereal because there was no brand I would continuously enjoy. And then on a whim my family tried Honey Bunches of Oats.

I’m really not quite sure why we tried it, but it must have been my idea because we started out with the Honey Bunches of Oats with Almonds and my mom doesn’t eat non-organic cereal and my brother doesn’t like almonds, so somewhere along the lines I must have though this was a good idea. Somewhere along the lines I was right.

This is the only cereal I will eat with milk, but it doesn’t lose anything to eat it dry. The granola bunches are crunchy and flavorful but never too sweet, and the flakes of the cereal are a combination of honey roasted and sweet and plain and crunchy.

Honey Bunches of Oats is the cereal I have been searching for my entire life. It has all the flavor a children’s cereal but with none of the chemicals and additives or colorings. This cereal may not be organic, but it’s surprisingly healthy with no more sugar than the typical children’s cereal (11g) and is not sweetened with any kind of corn syrup (high fructose or otherwise). This is what I miss at breakfast when I’m at college: I miss having Honey Bunches of Oats. I miss having a cereal I can (and will) eat with milk.

Honey Bunches of Oats comes in the following flavors: Original Honey Roasted, Almond, Peach, Cinnamon, Strawberry, Raisin Medley, Vanilla Bunches, Just Bunches (a box of their fantastic granola), and their NEW fruit blends: Banana Blueberry, and Peach Raspberry.

Grab a box if you get a chance, I can’t say enough about this cereal. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

