Just another WordPress.com site

Lemon Poppy-seed Muffins

When I go the food store I walk around the aisles of pre-packaged baked goods in hopes of getting ideas to spark my recipes. It’s a surprisingly easy way to feel creative and it’s a great feeling to look at all the packaged baked goods and tell yourself:

“I can make that!” 

I was shopping with my grandfather for a cheese platter for a party in Shop Rite and, as usual, found my way toward the cakes/cookies/muffins, etc. It was just coincidence that I found lemon poppy-seed muffins because I knew that at home we had a can of poppy seeds I had been meaning to work with.

These muffins are delicious, the lemon has a subtle way of weaving itself through every bite of muffin and the poppy seeds are the base of flavor. The muffin is moist and stays moist to make a dozen last a week of breakfasts (or less if you eat them as snacks too). Each muffin is topped with sugar and lemon peel to add another sprinkle of lemon flavors. These are a definite hit for on the go breakfasts that never skimp on being filling. As always, Cheryl’s Confections treats are natural, healthy, and delicious.

Each dozen is $18

Ingredients: all purpose flour, sugar, eggs, vegetable oil, non-aluminum baking powder, poppy seeds, lemon juice, lemon peel, low fat milk

Leave a Reply

