Just another WordPress.com site

When I went berry picking with my mother last month for strawberries it was rather late in the season, we had to do a bit of digging to find strawberries that weren’t dead on the bush or in the dirt. The strawberries were still delicious, but it was difficult to find ones that would last a long time once we got them home.

So the same farm we went to for strawberries has blueberry picking July into August. Jones Family Farm is truly amazing. The blueberry bushes are farther back on the farm and so we got to take a much longer trip on the Berry Ferry and see the massive acreage that is Jones Family Farm. It’s amazing. The farm has pumpkin picking in the fall and Christmas trees in the winter and strawberries then blueberries in the summer.

  

The blueberry bushes stretched out for miles and this time we came early in the season. Not all the berries were ripe yet we were that early. When my mom and I came off the Berry Ferry to be told which bushes we could pick from I saw people coming back from picking and had to do a double take. The blueberries could not look that perfect. It just wasn’t possible.

Yet they did. The blueberries felt like they were covered in a soft fuzz of velvet. They were so beautiful and plump and delicious. I cannot recommend getting to a farm to pick your own berries enough. I have never tasted better berries and for about 3 lbs of berries my mom and I paid a little over $6. The berries have been lasting us for the past two weeks, just as delicious and just as fresh.

I’ve been making tons of whole wheat blueberry pancakes and I’m in the process of perfecting a blueberry muffin recipe. If anyone has any other ideas on what to do with fresh blueberries I would love to hear from you!

 

Leave a Reply

